My International Travel Wishlist

“I’m in love with cities I’ve never been to and people I’ve never met.”

-John Green,  Paper Towns

New Zealand

New Zealand, birthplace of Lorde (Pure Heroine is a national treasure), is my most recent travel obsession. Made up of a North and South islands and a mass of smaller ones, New Zealand has a broad range of scenery from subtropical forests, beaches, offshore islands, glaciers, mountains, lakes, fiords, volcanoes, hot springs, pastures — it’s absolutely breathtaking.  New Zealand is also incredibly safe for solo female travelers and is one of only two countries in the world that don’t have snakes. It’s rich in Maori culture, wildlife, and opportunities for outdoor adventures. Also the locals, called ‘Kiwis,’ are rumored to be incredibly welcoming and friendly to visitors.

newzealand
North Island, New Zealand

92b98a4fcf3a835d419e4f47614ace731713731c
Queenstown, New Zealand

Whitianga New Zealand
Whitianga, New Zealand

waitomo caves
Waitomo Caves, Matamata, New Zealand

“We travel, some of us forever, to seek other places, other lives, other souls.”

– Anais Nin

Romania

Now this may seem like a random and odd choice, but Romania is so rich in medieval history and surrounded by elaborate and beautiful castles. Surrounded by lavish, virtually undisturbed forests and mountains, Romania is a hidden gem of Eastern Europe. I am actually going to have the opportunity to go this summer to work with some initiatives to counter the rise of human trafficking in the more rural regions.

Piata-Sfatului-Brasov-Romania
Brasov, Romania

bucharest-03
Bucharest, Romania

bran-castle
Transylvania, Romania

Mexico

Viva la Mexico! Mexico became much more accessible to me after I moved to Texas for college.  Mexico is a relatively affordable, vibrant cultural experience with beautiful architecture, food and atmosphere. There are places that are definitely much safer to visit than others, so vigilance is very important (also just a good tip for traveling anywhere). Also traveling alone will probably be a no-go, but Mexico is still high on my list.

o-149248429-900
(Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Mexico)

(Completed: Isla Mujeres, Mexico, March 2016)

532066341_11
Guanajuato, Mexico

mexico_01_big
Mexico City, Mexico

8397089452_9ba61fe311_b
Puebla City, Mexico

Africa

This pick has more sentimental value than nearly all the other picks on my list. Contrary to portrayals of Africa in media and literature, there are numerous beautiful places to visit in Africa. Even after the devastation that colonization and globalization has wrought on the continent, Africa still has many hidden treasures and cultures so diverse and brilliant exploring all of the complexities could easily that I cannot wait to one day explore. I actually have ancestral roots in Mali, which a landlocked in West Africa, on my father’s side.  I’d love to visit South Africa, Ghana, Morocco and maybe Kenya.

south-africa-cape-town
Cape Town, South Africa

opct_ba7c744fe632145ce44a99abe7c5ff50
Cape Town, South Africa

morrocco
Marrakesh, Morrocco, Africa

marrakesh
Marrakesh, Morrocco, Africa

Thailand

thailand

Belize

aerial-belize-city-swing-bridge-600

belize-beaches-south-water-caye-rend-tccom-616-347

Greece

(Mykonos, Greece)

greecemykonoscoast
Coast of Mykonos Town

(Santorini, Greece)

santorini

(Athens, Greece) 

athens 1

Amsterdam

Iceland

54208498e525e51ce73d6c8ba1ba8324
Reykjavik, Iceland

This list is constantly evolving, just like I am. But for right now it’s relatively complete.

I can’t wait to finish school and start exploring everything this world has to offer.

Have you ever been to any of these places? Or have your own travel wishlist?

Leave me a comment, let me know what you think 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. i would love to go to new Zealand

    Like

    1. Me too!! I’m trying to convince one or two of my friends to go with me, but if not I’ll still go alone haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha you know the struggle! i usually travel alone

        Like

  2. Amsterdam (I have only been to the airport for transfers!!) and Santorini are on my list too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

