About Time: Movie Review

I decided to watch About Time this Saturday in honor of Valentine’s Day and indulge my aggressive need to live vicariously through the highs and lows of fictionalized romantic relationships. I am usually on the fence about Rachel McAdams, but I made an exception for this movie. And I am SO glad I did.

“We’re all traveling through time together, every day of our lives. All we can do is do our best to relish this remarkable ride.”

The plot was straightforward and followed a lot of semi-typical cliches for romance movies but the dialogue between the main characters, Tim and Mary kept me on my toes (and on the verge of tears) during the entire film.

tumblr_n0y62s37vv1rkmofxo4_400

Tim, and all of the men in his family can travel through time. They have the ability to go back into any moment (that they can feasibly remember) and do things differently. The concept of time travel has always been relegated to science fiction, mostly because a lot of writers create characters interested in making dramatic macro-level changes. But this movie just focuses on the micro-level, the ordinary life a 21-year old man in Cornwall, searching for exactly what we all are at 21 — a sense of purpose and someone who understands us and makes our lives feel more exciting and dynamic. About Time quotes

Aside from the heartbreakingly realistic and subtly written romance of Tim (Domhnall Gleeson) and Mary (Rachel McAdams), which torn me to bits, I also loved the relationship between Tim and his father (played by Bill Nighy, who I actually find immensely attractive).

About Time was incredibly raw and intense. Halfway through the movie, I was so invested I could feel myself getting really worked up (I am completely compartmentalizing, I cried into my chicken wings like a baby for a full thirty minutes). I think the movie struck me so profoundly because I identify so severely with Tim. I am constantly surrounded by people who seem to be jumping headfirst in the raging rapids of life, finding people with whom they mesh with completely, while I stand by hoping for the same.

About Time quotes

The whole point of the movie is that life is made up of so many  little moments– subtle, nuanced pieces of time that we never give much thought to– but those are the moments that matter most profoundly. About Time takes such an beautifully intimate look at the mind-blowing highs and devastating lows of early adulthood. I am completely enamored with this film, and would highly HIGHLY recommend it to anyone interested in gorgeously told love stories and compelling  examinations of everyday life.

“I just try to live every day as if I’ve deliberately come back to this one day, to enjoy it, as if it was the full final day of my extraordinary, ordinary life.”

tumblr_natkjjwb191s61mo6o1_r3_500

Leave a Reply

