My (Brief) Trip to Maya Riviera, Mexico

I got a chance to visit the Maya Riviera to shoot a wedding over Spring Break, and it was honestly such a beautiful experience.  I think wedding photography is definitely an acquired taste (it’s way too stressful for me, between trying to coordinate bride and the bridesmaids, groom and groomsmen, my gawd, no) but it’s where the money and experiences are at this point in my career.

I stayed at the resort where the ceremony and reception took place, the Ocean Coral and Turquesa. The resort was all-inclusive and located right off the beach so I spent a boatload of time walking (read:sleeping) on the beach, soft waves lulling me in at every step.

Mexico 06
Ocean Coral Turquesa, 5 star all-inclusive resort

Mexico 01.jpg

Mexico 02
Check the view from my oceanside suite.

Because, this was not a purely travel related trip, I spent a fair amount of my time in the resort and only really had time to venture out on one excursion.

I took a cab, then a ferry from Maya Riviera to Cancun, Mexico, to the Isla Mujeres.

Despite the extreme windiness, the ferry ride was unexpectedly peaceful. And once I got over my semi-irrational fear of dropping my phone and/or camera into the ocean I got some great shots to and from the island.

Isla Mujeres 07

Mexico 09
Delicious fish tacos (from a hotel I didn’t even stay at, lol)

Isla Mujeres was incredibly vibrant and there was so much activity. It was actually a little too touristy for my tastes in many parts, but I still think the island has a lot to offer if you are willing to venture a little further past the entrance. Travel around the island is done almost exclusively by walking, taking a taxi, golf cart or moped. There are very few cars on the island, and virtually none on the road.

Isla Mujeres 03

Isla Mujeres 04

 

 

I really hope that I can go back to this part of Mexico (and countless other parts, *cough* Playa del Carmen, *cough*) when I’m not  on a time crunch, and don’t really have anywhere to be at all hours of the day.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

